Working From Home

I work from home. I love it. Some days it’s a little rough, but for the most part I love it.

I love that I don’t have to wear an outfit that makes sense, I love that I don’t have to go out to lunch or buy coffee on my way to work, or deal with in-office bs. I deal with plenty of virtual office bs, but that is easier to deal with when you are just listening/reading it…

I get a lot of questions about what my day looks like – so I thought I’d jot it down…

Alarm goes off at 6:46, and 6:50 – get up, shuck pajamas, don sweats, pull the dog out of his crate and head outside.

6:55AM – put dog in crate, unlock computer and log in

7:00AM – start work. This could mean reading emails (I usually log in to 20 – 30 a morning), or a conference call, or both. 7AM is the normal start time – but could be 6:30, or 445AM – like one day last week.

7AM – 10:30AM – lots of meetings, lots of conversation, lots of instant messaging, email reading, project starting, to-do list updating, pull reports, etc.

Somewhere in there I make coffee and figure out something for breakfast

10:30 (ish – could be 9, could be 11 – depending on the day) Walk the dog – for about 1/2 an hour, which could be a little more or a little less time, but is usually about a mile and a half.

11 – 3 more meetings, projects, emails, instant messages.

3 – 330, update the to-do list – realize I have or havent eaten since whenever, and find something to eat.

I normally shower at some point in the afternoon, but not always.

3:30 is when I figure out where I’m at time wise with projects. 2 days a week we have late calls. until 630 or 7, and those days I try to duck out for a bit, or depending on the workload, will work through.

After work anywhere from 330 – 7, I take the dog for a second long walk, or go to meet someone for a long walk.  K and I are walking buddies now, makes the walking much more fun.

And that is that – evenings I either run errands, have free or have meetings. Nights I”:m home – I’m home, computering, reading, chatting – and then around 11, I got to bed and a few hours later – it all begins again!

And that is a Mon – Fri of my life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Working From Home

  1. Joanna says:

    computering will be my new favorite alison word (I’m still loving ass-hat and using it frequently).

    office jobs (or classroom jobs) have some bs too. Thankfully I work with 10% ass hats and 90% lovely ladies. On top of that the 90% are all pretty hilarious. That helps.

  2. Kirsten says:

    This is a good idea for a post this month! Your day is alot like mine without the toddler wrangling. I’ll have to jot down what I do each day too – except it might depress me…LOL

Leave a Reply

