Flashback Friday

flashback-friday

Well, I realized that maybe the missing link into why I loved doing the events, was that “we” are all visual learners.

 

So – I’ve rounded up some links that I think you’ll enjoy.

First up – I think almost everyone knows that I lived in Seattle for a year, and was the Crew Coordinator for the Seattle 3-Day.  I was responsible for recruiting, retaining and training 700 volunteers. This link shows pictorial expierence of some of my crew – super fun!.
http://walking.about.com/library/walk/blavonphotoseattle.htm

 

I also toured the summer before that, and one of my favorite events was the Alaska AIDS Vaccine Ride… http://www.cs.rpi.edu/~moriartk/alaska.html

 

But I started, at the California AIDS Ride. I crewed (volunteered) CAR 4, 5 and 6? and Staffed CAR 7, 8, and 9. It’s where my heart for the events came from. I wanted to start with CAR 3, but couldnt get myself coordinated. But, at 19, I flew to SF – and crewed CAR 4 as a gear crew member. I, can.not. put into words how much I value this expierence. I have one – poorly made, scrapbook of memories, and can very clearly standing at opening watching all the bikes with red flags ride by me. And standing at closing and realizing how many of those people with red flags I knew. And standing at opening the next year, and wondering how many of the missing faces I knew from the previous year had died. I can now count higher than I ever thought I would those that have died from AIDS related complications. I have friends and co-workers who are HIV positive and it’s still a cause close to my heart.
http://www.pallottateamworks.com/Photos/PTW_Ride/

 

And finally, the 3Days. An event I didn’t love. But now, am grateful for it, am happy it’s still happening. And often, a version of what I volunteer on when I go to staff events.
http://www.pallottateamworks.com/Photos/PTW_Ride/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

