20ish Questions: Answers

WOWZERS!! Well, that was fun, many many questions. All of which I answered honestly. Yup – really. Even the one that makes me cry, and the one that makes me embarassed – okay the two that make me embarrased/romantically inept.

However, none of which is a huge suprise to me, and I know what specifically drives those answers, so – it’s an interesting excercise…

This was fun – thanks for playing – maybe again sometime?? Who knows – will have to see what the comments say – feel free to comment below, and I’ll do my best to answer follow ups.

What was your childhood nickname?
I had a few – Al-cat is the one that my Mom still calls me. Most of the family calls me Al or Als, some call me Ali – depends on when they knew me. I prefer Alison, Al or Als.

Have you ever failed a subject? If so, which one?
Okay, this one is funny. In HS, my junior year I failed US History and had to retake it as a Senior. I nearly failed Chemistry – but cried and was given a C, told to take the class not Zero Period, and not with a specific boy, and with a teacher at the first teachers choosing, regardless of what that did to my schedule. So I did, and really learned to love Chemistry.

College was a different story. I think I had one sememester, maybe, where I didnt fail at least one subject. Nope, not kidding. I failed something each semester, usually multiple somethings. And, let’s be clear – by fail I do not mean “got a C or a D”. I mean – got a big. giant. F. or Incomplete. Hello, people, why do we think I didnt finish?? or was there for 5 years and didnt finish. Anyhoodle…

Is there one thing you wished your parents would have done/purchased that they didn’t? (I always really wanted a trampoline, but my mom said they weren’t safe)
A guidedog puppy. My mom said “Maybe” and then “Probably” and then… never. And no, I’ve never forgotten it!

If you could meet one celebrity, who would it be?
I’ve actually met alot of celebrities through my old job. I guess right now, I’d like to meet NPH or TRK, but I’ve already interacted with a few celebs, I don’t know I’ll have to think about that one, maybe update it again later.

Do you have any hidden talents?
Ummmm no.

Do you floss like you are supposed to? Or do you floss the 2 weeks prior to getting your teeth cleaned so you SEEM as though you’ve been flossing?
HA – Nope, I don’t floss. I rarely go to the dentist either. I think I went 2 years ago, and prior to that it’d been… 6 years? So – no I don’t floss, and yes I realize the implications bad dental care can have on you later in life, and thank you very much for the “in your head lecture” that you’re all giving me right now.

When you were in high school and you imagined the career you’d have as an adult…what was it? and are you doing it?
In HS, I thought I would be a teacher of the D/HOH. And then – I did many “interesting things” and now work for big blue.

Who did you have a crush on as a youngster?
Ohhhhh – Steve Morrissey, hands down. GIGANTIC crush on him, and I think everyone, excluding him, knew it. I’m not so good at hiding that crap. I was really shitty at hiding it in Chemistry class, but better at in Alegebra 2 Trig, Band, and the other class we shared that year.

What is your favorite M&M color?
I don’t really have one, but I do think the blue ones taste funky!

If you were in a serious relationship….and you had a “list” of 5 celebrities you were allowed to sleep with…who would they be?
Jeesh – ummmm… I don’t know. I think I focus on the “first I would need a serious relationship” part…

If someone were to write a book about your life…what would the title be?
Ummm…. The Funny Fat One

Tighty whitey’s or boxers?
I’m assuming, what do I prefer in a man… I would say, whatever suit’s his personality, but I think the boxer-brief situation is an interesting combination.

If you were a tree, what kind of tree would you be?
Oak?

How much wood could a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood?
I think that the woodchuck could chuck as much wood as he wanted! By the way what is a wood chuck? Is it like a gopher? This is difficult to question answer. The amount of wood that woodchucks would chuck on a given day varies greatly with the individual woodchuck. According to a Wall Street Journal article, New York State wildlife expert Richard Thomas found that a woodchuck could chuck around 35 cubic feet of dirt in the course of digging a burrow. Thomas reasoned that if a woodchuck could chuck wood, he would chuck an amount equal to 700 pounds.

If you could meet somebody knowing that it could change history…who of the following would you choose?
Abraham Lincoln
JFK
Osama Bin Laden
or
Hitler?
(ummm…wtf is wrong with my husband)
Am I limited to just the above folks? I think I would meet with Hitler.

What would you rather eat…a balut egg? a bull testicle? or a live goldfish?
I have ALREADY eaten bull testicles, so I’m going to go with that. Rocky Mountain Oyster, anyone??

If you were in a serious relationship….and you had a “list” of 5 celebrities you were allowed to sleep with…who would they be?
I realize this is a dup – but as I’ve continued to think about it, here’s what I think. I really believe strongly in monogamy, and given how and why my parents split up, I think that for me, I would need to be in a relationship where that isn’t on the table. I don’t think I could live with the “what if’s” that are attached to it for me. What if he meets someone that looks alot like that celebrity, or what if it’s a funny celebrity and then he meets someone equally as funny???? On and on – so for me,  I think I need to not have that list… know what I’m sayin??

What is your one regret in life?
I try to live with the fact that we all make choices, and there are choices that I would make differently, if given the chance to do things again. My one regret, is not making a stronger effort to be physically present for Kelly and Andy, when Brooklyn was at Stanford. I should have made the effort to go to Stanford and sit in the waiting room when K. was there, by herself. I should have seen what was coming and gone up there to just… be there. I for awhile thought that the regret was specifically not meeting Baby B, but in reality, it’s that I didnt do enough to be physically present for those weeks Kelly was up there herself.  I should have done more, and I will always regret that. Sorry, Kel. Many Many sorries to you. I should have done more.

First car?
My first car was a…. 1982 Nissan Sentra. It was originally my parents car, and when they got divorced, they kept it – my dad took teh truck, my mom took the van, and they kept the little white car for me. I ran that sucker into the GROUND. I mean really – by the end of my Sr. Year, it had no door handles, they whole mechism had ripped out, so I for awhile I had to dukes of hazzard it in and out, and then the window roller downer came off on one side, so I had to share… and jeesh – but I did enjoy that car!

First kiss?
Ohh… ummmm…. drunk in a bar, my first year of college. I have no idea what the guys name was, I’d been in college for about 3 minutes, was with my roommate and her bald mother – at a kareoke bar. wasted.

First job?
I was a hostess at Corcorans Restaurant. I hated it. HATED. IT.

First love?
Do you mean like… first infatuation/crush/whatever? Cause that’s identified above. If you mean first – I love him, and he loves me, and isn’t great that things are so wonderfully wonderful…. hasn’t happened, but I’ll let you know when it does.

First friend?
My first friend was Lauren. We met when I was 3 and she was 4. Her Mom, Kim was our daycare provider. My mom walked me up to the front door of her house, and through her screen door she said “My name is Yowen Ichelle Bock Bock… who awe you?” And that was it – friends. Her dad teaches with K and J at Dunlap, and Lauren and I are in contact now. It’s very cool to see her now, and her three kids, and to know that she was my very first friend.

First pet?
My first pet as an adult – Simon. I picked him from an animal shelter in somewhere near Seattle. He came with the name Ethan- but that didnt seem to fit him, so Simon is what he became. He was 4 mos old, and hissed at me when I pet his tail in the “try and buy” area of the shelter. My first pet as a kid – I think were two Springers, they were around before I was born. We always always had dogs growing up, outside dogs and outside cats.  And tons of livestock, which are animals, but not pets.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 20ish Questions: Answers

  1. Joanna says:

    I LOVE THIS! O’kay, really, really, fun. I might have to do this on my blog, but I’m kinda afraid what people may ask (BTW, note to self, be careful playing the 10 fingers game with Kaleena….I think I exposed more than I intended 🙂

    I can’t (well I actually can) believe the in the bar, with my room-mates bald mom. So what’s with the baldness? Was she sick or just eccentric?

    Guide dog, huh? That’s something you could do now, no? April’s husband did that when he was a kid. It always sounded interesting.

    I must be seriously celebrity retarted (since I don’t read enough TMZ) but who the heck are NPH and TRK?

    So who’s this Steve Morrisey dude? Where is he now?

    I had the BIGGEST crush on this dude Clint my junior and senior year (imagine he’s on the basketball team, totally tall and uber cute) For some whacked-out reason he invited ME to the prom. I went with him and with all the popular kids (king and quenn, no shit) But you know what ? He was so BORING, had no personality and all my band friends had WAY more fun. I felt like a total poser with his group of friends. Sometimes I wonder what he’s doing now….

  2. April says:

    Love the honesty. I agree with Joanna…I may have to try this too. However, I am very behind in my blogging so it will have to wait. I would like to have more information on your first kiss. I too would like to know what’s up with the bald mom. Brian’s family did indeed raise guide dogs. I think they had three or four of them over the years. It is sad when you have to give them back but also meaningful. One of their dogs did not pass because his hips were not good enough and Brian ended up keeping him. Brian still had him when we met. Do you have room in your apt. for a dog that might not pass??? Fun for Simon…no?

  3. Kelly says:

    Several thoughts:

    Failing in school- you’re very bright. Did you fail just because you were busy with other things and didn’t give it enough? Clearly, you passed Chemistry once Steve wasn’t there. =) I have a hard time believing you couldn’t pass school. Was it just the hoops that you didn’t want to jump through?

    I’m with Joanna. Who are NPH and TRK? I used to have an US Weekly subscription… but don’t any more.

    Steve- yes. That crush was VERY clear. Isn’t he married with several kids now?

    Wood Chuck- That’s hilarious!

    Stanford- Really, don’t regret that. I don’t hold it against you. It was an interesting time for everyone. You were there for me in so many ways and I appreciate that. Really, please don’t regret that. We all did what we had to do. =) But, thank you.

    The Nissan. Yes, I do remember that ride. You gave me many, many rides in HS.

    Your first job- man! I remember when you had that serious burn! That was BAD!

    Ethan? Totally doesn’t fit! Simon fits. =) Hilarious that he hissed at you. I wouldn’t have picked that one… but to each their own. ha. =)

    You’re braving putting this all out there! That was fun!

  4. afesler says:

    Ah yes – so post’s to come are apparnetly:
    Kissing in bars, with roomates bald mom, and WWF Wrestler boyfriend.

    Where in the world is Steve

    Education

    K – will work on those

  5. Kirsten says:

    I have to ask the same question as everyone else regarding the celebrities – cause I don’t get the initials thing.

    This was super fun and your woodchuck answer has been the highlight of our morning so far!

    As for the “list” of celebrities – I totally respect and understand your answer. We joke about it and have lists that consistently change, and hubs is CONVINCED that Angelina Jolie is going to show up on our doorstep nekkid and wanting him. Pipe Dream.

    I definately remember the SM crush – although I was thinking more like childhood crush, since we all new about this one! hahahaha

    I don’t know if I’d have the balls to answer the questions I may get asked…food for thought.

    Great post girl!

Leave a Reply

