… I learned something new today …

Yesterday, I bought this:

20090210_03

and I set it up

20090210_01

and after I figured out how to make bobbin, which is kinda fun – and how to load the bobbin, which is really alot more complicated than the instruction manual tells you – I taught myself how to make things.

 

What did I make, you ask…

 

Well – here are some “process photos” and the final products at the end…

20090210_02 20090210_04

20090211_05 20090211_10

 

I made.

 

A set of 8 napkins as a birthday gift for someone.

20090211_08

And 2 flax pillows. The big one is mine and goes along the shoulders, or eye balls, or whatever. The little one is the same, just little. They are filled with flax and peppermint leaves. You can heat them up, or freeze them, and get longtime cold heat, or warm heat – and… I love them. Hard to explain – but I enjoy them.

20090211_07

Oh yes.

 

I also totally sewed my finger.

 

Like. Sewed. My. Finger.

 

I was trying to feed the fabric through the machine while sewing backward stitches, and… somehow my pointer finger on my left hand got in there too – and I sewed it. In a major way.

 

20090211_13

 

But dude – I totally sew now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to … I learned something new today …

  1. Joanna says:

    Hmm…sorta wish my birthday was coming up 😉

    Sewed your finger, huh? Ouch!

    Jason bought me a sewing machine two years ago (in the hopes that I could stitch some patches on, hem some pants and the like) Sadly, for him, it’s only been used as a Halloween costume maker, a scrapbook layout maker, and on a shower gift. I don’t think it’s seen plain ole frabic yet 🙂

  2. Serenity Now says:

    oh wow, I’m impressed! I can’t sew worth a darn. I once tried to make a pair of pants in Jr. High and accidentally sewed the pockets onto the ankle part of the leg….my mom laughed so hard she cried. THus, I gave up sewing because I suck at it. Can’t wait to see what projects you come up with next!

  3. Kelly says:

    Yeah you! That’s AWESOME! Not so awesome you sewed your finger, but awesome that you sewed napkins and pillows. TOTALLY IMPRESSIVE! And, look at those lines! Completely straight.

    YOU GO GIRL!

    Closet crafter!

    Ha

  4. Bryan says:

    The craft items you made look great, but I have to say that your retelling of your finger injury was just sew-sew.

  5. Joanna says:

    Holy crap-balls….Bryan you are HILARIOUS!

  6. Serenity Now says:

    ummm yeah, Bryan is my new hero

Leave a Reply

