Been There, Done That

I got tagged in Facebook for this thing – and decided to just repurpose that thing for this post…

Rules: Once you’ve been tagged, you are supposed to write a note with 25 random things, facts, habits, or goals about you. At the end, choose 25 people to be tagged. You have to tag the person who tagged you. If I tagged you, it’s because I want to know more about you.

25. Depending on how you count, I have either 1 brother – or – 2 brothers, a sister, 2 of which come with kids and a spouse. I count the higher number and call everyone (spouses too) a sibling, and the kids, nieces and nephew, cause that’s the way I feel. Update: After many rounds of “your dad/my mom” and “my mom – I mean your mom and my dad” we call the two parental units “Denette” when they are being well behaved, and “Annis” when they deserve it.

24. Speaking of family – my friends refer to the as yet unpublished and invisible “Fesler Family Field Guide” to try and make sense of the “who” it is that I am referring to.

23. I grew up wanting to be a teacher, and current work for a giant corporation doing reporting, creative trafficking, and Response/Lead Management.

22. I had hair that hit the top of my belt, and after camping for 9 weeks – I got a chin length bob. It wasn’t a good look.

21. That 9 week camping trip is often in my thoughts and I miss it. and the people. and the experiences. but not the tent. or the porta potties.

20. On that 9 week camping trip I fell off a stage, through a chair in front of ~700 people. I had a massive cut on my leg that got scrubbed out with the green side of a yellow/green scrubby sponge. I didn’t cry during that process.

19. I cried the next morning (my 21st b-day) when OKs had a big bowl of cranberry sauce (one of my very favorite foods) on the serving line, with a note that said “Happy Birthday, Alison” – along with my blue shirted friends with giant smiles. Best part of my 21st bday.

18. I work from home and love it.

17. I moved to my hometown after becoming a work-at-home employee. For the most part, I am happy with that choice, but somedays feel pinned in, and pinned down, and like I need to get out.

16. I used to be way more adventurous, and am trying to reclaim that.

15. I have a crazy cat named Simon. I love him even though he bites, barbers and has bad breath.

14. I wonder sometimes if I missed my chance – if I’d been more open to it, realized it, or knew what to do with it – if things would be different. And other times I wonder if I’m imagining that there was an “it” at all.

12. I went to school to be a teacher of the D/HOH – and while I’m not that, I still use my ASL skills. I heart Hapitok.

14. When I did events, I filled in as an interpreter a few times. (I sign, I am NOT an interpreter) One of those times was for Sandra Bernhardt, a few of those times were in front of crowds of thousands, and one special time I learned a whole new vocabulary about what its called when X goes into Y. EEEESH

11. I’m crap at keeping in touch with people. Facebook is the best invention ever for that.

10. I work hard to maintain a stoic exterior – but in reality…

9. I cry first. All. The. Time. Not Kidding – every time, I cry first. Even after I’ve told others they can’t cry – I cry first.

8. I’ve gone to 13 funerals in the last 18 months. For the very old, the very young, and the in between. Each one was awful, but Brooklyn’s nearly did me in.

7. I have strong feelings about birds. I can’t like them. At All. I work to control my strong feeling so that I don’t have to walk briskly away from them.

6. I would love to be in comedy, or a comedy writer – but I can’t figure out how to make being a funny in-person person, into a professionally funny  person, and would I be willing to make a change like that – I don’t know.

5. I finally have an exercise routine that works. I love Water Exercise, and “the ladies” that I see 4x a week. I’ve seen, see, and will continue to see results and I have photo evidence to prove it. I’m in much better place than I was 2 years ago – nuff said.

4. My first friend, 2 of my longest ever friends, and my bestie are all on the FB.

3. My mom is a breast cancer survivor (minor staging, major surgery) – and some of that is what drives me to be organically minded, and make other choices about what pharmaceuticals I choose and choose not to consume.

2. Writing this makes me feel overexposed and a little nervous about the incoming comments and thoughts.

1. I work hard to be in the moment, to stay focused, and to be comfortable with I am. I def. question my choices in the past, and wonder how things would have figured out if I’d made a different choice or 12 – but the majority of the time I’m happy with where things stand.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Been There, Done That

  1. Joanna says:

    Wow….#14 made me catch my breath…. Not sure exactly what to say, but I believe that you (the collective you) can never miss your chance.

    That being said, I think it takes a brave (and open, and completely honest) person to wonder aloud and self-evaluate the choices that we’ve made. I think in the past year or so, I’ve tried really hard to look at myself more honestly (not implyign that you need to) Some of who I am surprised me…..

    #9- I’m the person that always cry last…I’m left wondering- Am I completely emotionless? Do I have no heart? What the heck is my problem???? Truth be told, I wish I *could* cry first

  2. afesler says:

    Thanks JoJo – It is an interesting expierence to self evaluate – but I think a healthy one…

    sorry for the breath catching… and nah, someone has to cry first, someone has to cry last and the rest of the people are in de middle…

  3. Kelly says:

    Don’t you love these kind of activities? =)

    I’m happy to know that I knew nearly all those things about you.

    =)

  4. Serenity Now says:

    wowza…I have so much to say and yet…I can’t figure out what TO say. Although damn girl…you’re gonna make me cry!
    You are an amazing writer – an awesome person – and a wonderful friend…I’m so proud to know you and that we got back in touch after so long. Kinda hard to imagine my life without my Alison, ya know? Hugs 🙂

  5. April says:

    I love the cranberry sauce story. The best kinds of friends are the ones that pay attention to the little things and know the simplest details about our lives…the details that may seem silly or insignificant to some, but to us…make our day 🙂

Leave a Reply

